top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Pure Love


This week I took some time to study the principle of charity. It is something that I have always been taught as important, and something I have desired and striven for, but I feel like there is so much to learn and understand about this beautiful concept.

I really love the Bible Dictionary definition of charity:

"The highest, noblest, strongest kind of love, not merely affection; the pure love of Christ. It is never used to denote alms or deeds of benevolence, although it may be a prompting motive"

I think the words used to describe charity here are incredible. "Highest", "noblest", "strongest", and "pure"...surely these words describe not only charity, but Jesus Christ Himself. He is the Source of and perfect example of charity. If this is true, and I truly believe that it is, then we can understand how to have charity by looking at how the Savior acted in the scriptures, as well as the kindness with which He treats us today. Basically, the question "What would Jesus do?" can be a really helpful guide in our quest for charity.

This verse in Moroni 7 (one of my favorite chapters from the Book of Mormon) touched my heart this week:

"But charity is the pure love of Christ, and it endureth forever; and whoso is found possessed of it at the last day, it shall be well with him."

Moroni 7:47

As I read this verse, I had the thought that charity is important to the Lord. I think it not only brings Him joy as He sees us practice and feel the kind of love that He has for His children (including us), but it also helps us to become more like Him. And in the end, that is the goal. He desires to give us all that He has, and I think He feels great joy when we take even little steps towards becoming like Him and inheriting the wonderful things He has in store for us in this life and the next.

What can we do to attain charity? And what will it be like when we do? I think the answer can be found in verse 48.

"Wherefore, my beloved brethren, pray unto the Father with all the energy of heart, that ye may be filled with this love, which he hath bestowed upon all who are true followers of his Son, Jesus Christ; that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure. Amen."

I think that will be a beautiful day. I hope that I can stand before Him pure and full of faith, hope, and charity, like Him.

I am so grateful for a Savior who is perfect and full of love. I am so grateful for the love that I have felt from Him and how, through that very love and the way I feel when I try to follow His example of it, I have felt hope.

Love,

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page