top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Happiness Through the Little Things

"And the first fruits of repentance is baptism; and baptism cometh by faith unto the fulfilling the commandments; and the fulfilling the commandments bringeth remission of sins;

And the remission of sins bringeth meekness, and lowliness of heart; and because of meekness and lowliness of heart cometh the visitation of the Holy Ghost, which Comforter filleth with hope and perfect love, which love endureth by diligence unto prayer, until the end shall come, when all the saints shall dwell with God." (Moroni 8: 25-26, Book of Mormon)

God is so good.

I love this verse because it shows the simple principles of the Gospel--faith, repentance, baptism, the Gift of the Holy Ghost, and enduring to the end--but in such a greater joy. As I read these verses, I reminded of the little things that are sometimes easy to neglect. beautiful way. I love how these verses almost show each principles as a reward or gift for the last one. When we have faith, then we have the opportunity to be baptized. We can keep Christ's commandments to show God our gratitude for Him, and we can repent when we break those commandments, let Him down, and do not follow Him like we promised to. We then can rely on Jesus Christ who heals us through the Atonement that He made for us, thereby reminding us of our weakness and imperfection and humbling us before God. That humility leaves room for the Spirit to enter our hearts and helps us to look outward, which allows God to fill that space and to fill us with comfort. (I sometimes like the feeling of a broken heart because it reminds me of my need for God and helps me to feel close to Him. It is comforting.) As we feel God's love through His Spirit, we turn to Him more through prayer, because we want to feel those good feelings again. ee continue on in this pattern until the end of our lives, learning and growing and feeling along the way. When we obey God's commandments, we feel happier. I hope to dedicate myself to following this pattern that the Lord has given you and me and each us in the scriptures.

Love,

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page