top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Near

This week, we discussed some of the Book of Mormon chapters that contain the words of Isaiah, the prophet from the Old Testament.

I used to find it pretty difficult to understand and appreciate Isaiah chapters. But as I studied them in church or for early morning seminary over the past few years, I have come to love and understand them more greatly.

I think that Isaiah has a beautiful way of writing with symbolism and imagery that can really reach our hearts and remind us of the beauty of God's love and mercy towards us.

One passage of Isaiah that Nephi records is found in 2 Nephi 8.

I loved these verses:

"5 My righteousness is near; my salvation is gone forth, and mine arm shall judge the people. The isles shall wait upon me, and on mine arm shall they trust."

11 Therefore, the redeemed of the Lord shall return, and come with singing unto Zion; and everlasting joy and holiness shall be upon their heads; and they shall obtain gladness and joy; sorrow and mourning shall flee away.

12 I am he; yea, I am he that comforteth you. Behold, who art thou, that thou shouldst be afraid of man, who shall die, and of the son of man, who shall be made like unto grass?"

I haven't always fully understand the principle of the Lord being "near" us. But I hope it is true. When I think back on my life, I think I have felt nearest to the Savior when I have done my part to give my whole heart and trust to Him. We talked in my Book of Mormon class about how God doesn't turn from us, but we are the ones that turn ourselves from Him. I remember that in some of the hardest days, weeks, or months of my life, I felt that the Lord was near because I poured my heart out to my Heavenly Father in prayer. I trusted that only He could give me the strength I needed to get through each day. Although when I looked to my right and to my left, I didn't see my Savior standing there, I trusted that He loved me and was helping me. I saw Him near me in the mini-miracles of each day. He was near me in the hugs of my parents, the kind texts from my friends, the math assessments that miraculously worked out, the comforting scriptures that spoke right to my soul, and the leaders in my life who expressed confidence in me. I witnessed all of these things for myself, and in all of these, I felt the Savior's closeness.

I had been feeling a bit discouraged at times this week. Yet I read this chapter (2 Nephi 8), I felt the Lord's peace. I was reminded that He loves me and all of us. I was reminded that He has all power. If He can part the sea and soften the hearts of kings and even overcome sin and death, surely He can help me to have success in my life. I wrote this in the margins of my Book of Mormon:

"God is all-powerful. Don't worry about your worries. Take it one day/moment at a time. Be patient and trust God. Walk a bit into the darkness with faith. And go forth and do. He will meet you there and help you to do even that step, if that's too hard. Go forth, and He will catch you. Read your scriptures, too. . ."

I had been feeling a bit "afraid of man" this week, and I felt warm inside as I thought of my Father's indescribable power and love. He knows and appreciates that we are trying in our day-to-day lives. He is merciful and compassionate. He understands our worries and imperfections, (silly as they may seem) and yet He loves us so much.

Just like any good father, our Heavenly Father is patient with us. He nurtures and encourages rather than belittles and tears down. He knows that we can't do this life alone, and so He has provided us with a Savior to heal us from our mistakes and pains and to overcome the world in our behalf. He loves us and is watching out for us. He wants us to succeed, and He rejoices in our desires and efforts, imperfect as they may be. So we truly need not fear the world. He is with us.

He has promised, "I will go before your face. I will be on your right hand and on your left, and my Spirit shall be in your hearts, and mine angels round about you, to bear you up." (Doctrine and Covenants 84:88)

I truly believe that someday, through the Atonement of our Savior, we can live with our Father in Heaven again. I believe that in that day, we will be embraced in the arms of our Savior Jesus Christ and that He will wipe all the tears from our eyes. How beautiful is the promise that then, we"shall obtain gladness and joy; sorrow and mourning shall flee away."

I can't wait for that day. And until then, I will hold onto the hope and knowledge that I have that, like Christ Himself says, "I am he; I am he that comforteth you." I believe that He truly is the Savior of the World prophesied of since the beginning of time and that He truly did what He said He did. I love Him, and I am so grateful for the comfort that His nearness brought me this week and can bring all of us in this life if we seek Him.

Love,

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page