top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Joy

Joy.

In the Book of Mormon, the prophet Lehi said, "Adam fell that men might be; and men are, that they might have joy." (2 Nephi 2:25)

It is interesting how God, knowing that this life would be a time of testing, trial, temptation, difficulty, and opposition, wants us to have joy.

This week I was thinking a bit about the Savior Jesus Christ's life. I can't quite comprehend what it would be like to be the Son of God living in an imperfect and unclean world, subject to all of the pains, temptations, and trials that each of us face. I wondered if His days were ever boring or His daily tasks seemed mundane. But then I wondered: maybe the Savior found meaning in the little things whenever possible. Maybe He remembered who He was and the purpose of all of these sometimes less-than-glorious moments of daily life. Maybe He found joy through His attitude.

I hope that I can find joy as a student even in the dreaded testing center and the stressful process of writing a paper. I hope I can find a joy as a mother in changing diapers and waking up in the middle of the night to help a crying child. I hope I can find joy in the hard things.

I hope I can find joy in doing what's right. The Book of Mormon describes a violent and bitter group of people who turned their lives around. After having accepted the Gospel of Jesus Christ and choosing to be more peaceful, "they were... distinguished for their zeal towards God, and also towards men; for they were perfectly honest and upright in all things; and they were firm in the faith of Christ..." (Alma 27:27) I want that. I want to be a better version of myself and to feel the joy that comes from feeling confident in your standing before God. I want to feel the peace that comes from letting go of bitterness and grudges. I want to feel the joy of living a life a little more like how Christ lived.

I hope I can find joy from Christ even in the midst of sadness. The very people mentioned in the last paragraph were described also in these words: "They did never look upon death with any degree of terror, for their hope and views of Christ and the resurrection; therefore, death was swallowed up to them by the victory of Christ over it." (Alma 27:28) I love that! I hope that any fear or sorrow I have can be swallowed up in the hope that I feel because of the "victory of Christ over" all the badness, sadness, and ickiness of life. I hope that I can view each trial I face in the perspective of God's love for me and the gift of His Son to heal and strengthen me in the midst of these things. I hope that I can find joy in the command to "fear not what man can do, for God shall be with you forever and ever." (Doctrine and Covenants 122:9)

I hope that I can find joy in serving others. I believe that service can help us to feel joy when it may feel missing in our lives. Even if we feel like we aren't doing anything right in life, we can serve others in small ways and feel the radiance of their joy. We can feel peace in making some difference for them, however small, and we will also feel peace as the demands of service help us to forget our problems. Jeffrey R. Holland said, "Surely the thing God enjoys most about being God is the thrill of being merciful, especially to those who expect it and often feel they don't deserve it." I have felt joy in the service that others have given me this week. I have also felt joy in little efforts to serve such as opening doors or complementing someone on a job well done. I haven't always felt totally better, but each little act of service adds a drop to the bucket of my joy.

I hope that joy can give me the strength to serve others. I believe that feelings of joy literally strengthen and energize us. Joy is a manifestation of God's power in our lives, and we can do infinitely more with that power. Today I was sitting at a table and feeling too tired to do something that I needed to. I said a little prayer that Heavenly Father would help me to have the strength to do what I need to do. I started to feel more awake and alert and hopeful. My mind felt clearer. With the realization that Heavenly Father had heard my prayer, I felt joy. This joy strengthened me to not only do what I had to, but also to invite some people to share my table that were looking for a place to sit. The Savior also had an experience like this where joy likely helped Him to do something difficult--the most difficult thing that ever was done. Russell M. Nelson said, "Joy is powerful, and focusing on joy brings God's power into our lives. As in all things, Jesus Christ is our ultimate exemplar, 'who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross.' Think of that! In order for Him to endure the most excruciating experience ever endured on earth, our Savior focused on joy! . . . Surely it included the joy of cleansing, healing, and strengthening us."

I am so grateful that our Heavenly Father wants us to have joy, and I am grateful for the peaceful and pure moments of joy I have felt in my life, whether in the most easy and exciting of times or the most painful and difficult of times.

I would challenge you guys to focus on joy this week. Find joy in trials, service, and doing what's right. It may take a while, but I believe it will come. I have seen it in my life.

You are loved!

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page