top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Do Good

I want to be a doer of good.

There is an amazing example of this in the Book of Mormon. He is a man by the name of Captain Moroni--a military leader, faithful example, and hard-worker that was so amazing that the following verse was written about him:

"Yea, verily, verily I say unto you, if all men had been, and were, and ever would be, like unto Moroni, behold, the very powers of hell would have been shaken forever; yea, the devil would never have power over the hearts of the children of men." --Alma 48:17

This isn't all that was said of Captain Moroni. He was "a man who did labor exceedingly" (verse 12), "a man whose heart did swell with thanksgiving unto God" (verse 12), a man who "was preparing to support their liberty, their lands, their wives, and their children, and their peace, and that they might live unto the Lord their God" (verse 10). To me, Captain Moroni seems like someone dedicated to making others' lives better.

Verse 16 of the same chapter describes more of Moroni's valiance. "...that God would make it known unto them whither they should go to defend themselves against their enemies, and by so doing, the Lord would deliver them; and this was the faith of Moroni, and his heart did glory in it; not in the shedding of blood but in doing good, in preserving his people, yea, in keeping the commandments of God, yea, and resisting iniquity."

I love this idea of doing good. As I read this, I was reminded of one of my favorite scriptures from the Doctrine and Covenants.

"Therefore, fear not, little flock; do good; let earth and hell combine against you, for if ye are built upon my rock, they cannot prevail." (Doctrine and Covenants 6:34)

Just as the faith and goodness of Moroni blessed others and protected him against the devil's opposition, I believe that we can make a difference in the world. By our attitudes, by our service, and by our faith, we can see miracles and improve the lives of those around us, if not our community and country as well.

Remember to have faith that even the little good you do makes a difference. Let's all commit to trying a little harder to do good so that we and those we love can "live unto the Lord their God" (Alma 18:10).

Love you :) Thanks for all of the goodness that you have added to my life and the lives of many others--more than you know!

Love,

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page