top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Moving Forward Anyway

Note: This blog post is from over two months ago, but I have found that parts of it apply almost better to my current situation than to my situation when I wrote it! Cool how God works, huh?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

September 13, 2016

This blog post contains a few of the thoughts that touched my heart this week.

We come back to Lehi and his family, as mentioned in the post from September 5th, The Wilderness. After having traveled almost 200 miles away from Jerusalem in order to follow God's command, escape a wicked city, and find their promised land, Lehi and his family are commanded to make the long trek back to Jerusalem in order to obtain the brass plates, which contained the word of God, including much of what we have in the Bible today.

These plates were more than just a good book to read on the road trip. They were more than just comforting words, too. These plates contained the Law of Moses and the word of God. The family, being separated from Jerusalem, would need these words in order to know and keep the commandments of the Lord and to preserve their language for future generations, thereby allowing their posterity to also read and understand the scriptures.

So, they knew that it was important to get the plates. But getting them wasn't so simple.

Lehi's sons--Laman, Lemuel, Sam, and Nephi--were sent to go to Jerusalem and ask the wicked king Laban for the plates. So, they did as they were told and asked the king very nicely. He refused. Then they brought the king gold and silver and precious things in exchange for the plates. He refused again, sent his guards after then to kill them, and stole the possessions they had offered him.

Laman and Lemuel began to complain. They say, "How is it possible that the Lord will deliver Laban into our hands? Behold, he is a mighty man, and he can command fifty, yea, even he can slay fifty; then why not us?" {1 Nephi 3:31}

Sometimes this verse can seem a bit funny. After all, being able to command fifty doesn't sound like anything compared to the limitless power of God.

Yet, when I truly think about it, I am often just like them. I think, "I can't do what God is asking me to do. It's too scary! How could it work out when my grade/social status/personal comfort is on the line? These people might judge me if I do that! What if God doesn't help me do this?"

I think we just need to remember how little man's power is compared to God. As perfectly put by Gary E. Stevenson, "You have the Savior of the world on your side. If you seek His help and follow His directions, how can you fail?"

Nephi is a great example of this. He had a lot of faith and he desired to do what the Lord asked him to. He knew that the Lord would provide a way for him to obtain the plates. He didn't know how, but he knew that it was what the Lord wanted him to do, and he would try and try again and do whatever it took to do what he promised he would.

I love what Nephi says in 1 Nephi 4:6-7.

"And I was led by the Spirit, not knowing beforehand the things which I should do. . . Nevertheless I went forth. . ."

Please remember that this was the brothers' third attempt to get these plates. They had already lost their possessions, had their lives threatened, and been severely shaken by the anger of a wicked king. But Nephi had the faith to move forward anyway.

I think of times when people in my life have done the same thing. My family has at times had to go forward in faith when deciding whether or not to move or make other significant changes or choices in our lives. In my own life, there have been decisions about what activities to fill my time with, how to deal with a particularly difficult situation, or what to say to someone that I am scared of approaching. Though I have certainly not been perfect at it, I have always been amazed at the peace that comes and how things have worked out as "I went forth" with faith, even when I didn't know exactly what I was going to do or say.

I love how the scriptures can apply to our lives so perfectly. It seems like a miracle to me.

As we go forward in faith, it will start to become more clear for us what God would actually have us do or not do. We may still feel afraid to do what He has asked to, but I have hope that He can comfort us and give us the courage necessary to do it.

This verse tells of Nephi's experience with this, and it rings true to me: "And now, when I, Nephi, heard these words, I remembered the words of the Lord which he spake unto me in the wilderness, saying that: Inasmuch as thy seed shall keep my commandments, they shall prosper in the land of promise."

I really love this verse. I think that in scary and uncertain times, this is something we can hold onto. We can gain courage to keep God's commandments, do hard things in life, or even just be kind or patient or selfless if we remember the hope that God has promised us.

In the end, the Lord provided a way for Nephi to get the plates. The brothers returned to their family safely, and after a long, difficult journey, they made it to their promised land. Generations were blessed by having the scriptures, and the experiences they had were recorded and now are inspirations to us. So, never underestimate the seemingly impossible tasks that God asks you to do. With Him, the impossible can be possible and the seemingly hopeless future is always overflowing with opportunity.

Just remember that God has a wonderful life in store for you. He wants you to thrive, and He knows how to help you thrive. He knows your fears and uncertainties. Ask for His help, and go forward in faith, even when you don't know exactly how it'll turn out. Like it was for Nephi, God is going to accomplish great things through you. You, your family, and many others will be blessed for your courage, efforts, and desires to do good.

I have a lot of improvement to make in this regard. Sometimes, it is hard to gain courage. I would love to hear you suggestions, stories, or ideas on how you gain courage in your daily life. Feel free to message or comment below.

Love,

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page