top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Better Than You Think

Life is uncertain in a lot of ways. The older we get, the more we seem to need to trust God's plan and that He is in charge. I think that sometimes when we feel unsure about our futures, we feel lost, and we feel uncertain of our standing before our Heavenly Father. We know that we makes lots of mistakes, and we know that that is a part of life, but we aren't sure what those mistakes will mean for us and the way that God views us.

There has been one scripture that has come up for me on multiple occasions within the past week or so. I really like it, because it reminds me of the confidence that God wants us to be able to have before Him. It has given me peace when I have felt unsure of which way my future was going to go, and when I felt worried that I was going to choose the wrong choice.

It says,

"For I perceive that ye are in the paths of righteousness; I perceive that ye are in the path which leads to the kingdom of God; yea, I perceive that ye are making his paths straight."

{Alma 7:19}

It has meant a lot to me to read this verse this week, because in essence, it tells me that God knows that I am trying. Maybe, just maybe, we are doing better than we think. As my Book of Mormon professor put it, "I am looking at a room full of people who did not wake up and say, 'Gee, I really want to be bad today. What is something I could do to be bad and rebellious?'" Rather, we are very imperfect people who love our Heavenly Father and are trying to get home. And this scripture teaches me that He knows and acknowledges this desire and all of our efforts to do good.

This seems amazing to me, and it makes me feel my Father's love. I believe that He trusts us to make our own decisions sometimes. And while I don't feel certain that I am making the right choice, I know that God knows my desires. He loves me. I truly believe that He is compassionate and will help me to get on the right path as long as I earnestly desire to do what is right. I know that He wants the best for us.

I love my perfect Heavenly Father, and I am grateful for His patience with me, one of His imperfect children.

He loves you too!

Love you all!!

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page