top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

My Testimony of the Book of Mormon

I cannot believe it is the end of the semester. Boy, has it been a ride. A good one.

My Book of Mormon class has meant so much to me this semester. In this final post "assignment" for the semester, I want to share with you something sacred and important.

I have read the Book of Mormon since the time I still had to sound out words to read. We read it as a family all growing up. I studied in Sunday School, Young Women's and on my own as I was growing up. I remember listening to an audiobook version of the Book of Mormon around the time I was baptized when I was eight.

My testimony (things that I know to be true) of the Book of Mormon isn't complete or perfect, but it's mine.

And here it is (at least some of it).

1. I know that we are children of our Heavenly Father, that He loves us, and that He wants the best for us.

"Adam fell that men might be; and men care, that they might have joy." {2 Nephi 2:25}

I know that God wants the best for us--in the end, He hopes to give us all the joy in the world and all that He has.

2. I believe in Jesus Christ as my Savior and the Redeemer of the World, and I love Him dearly.

"And it came to pass that the multitude went forth, and thrust their hands into his side, and did feel the prints of the nails in his hands and in his feet; and this they did do, going forth one by one until they had all gone forth, and did see with their eyes and did feel with their hands, and did know of a surety and did bear record, that it was he, of whom it was written by the prophets, that should come." {3 Nephi 11:15}

3. I have felt God's healing in my life and know that He cares about us individually. I have tasted and felt of His mercy and love.

"And they did all, both they who had been healed and they who were whole, bow down at his feet, and did worship him; and as many as could come for the multitude did kiss his feet, insomuch that they did bathe his feet with their tears." {3 Nephi 17:10}

4. I believe that Christ is our Savior and Friend; He is the source of all truth and light, and because of Him, we can lay hold upon every good thing. Because of Him, all things are possible.

"And I would exhort you, my beloved brethren, that ye remember that every good gift cometh of Christ." [Moroni 10:18}

5. I know that Christ atoned for us. He loves us and understands us. Though I don't fully understand all that He did and suffered for me and you, I believe it, and I love it. I am so grateful for His perfect love and obedience for suffering for our pains and sins.

"And he shall go forth, suffering pains and afflictions and temptations of every kind; and this that the word might be fulfilled which saith he will take upon him the pains and the sicknesses of his people. . . And he will take upon him death, that he may loose the bands of death which bind his people; and he will take upon him their infirmities, that his bowels may be filled with mercy, according to the flesh, that he may know according to the flesh how to succor his people according to their infirmities." [Alma 7:11-12}

6. I believe that because of Christ, hope is never lost. Because of Him, there is hope. And it is amazing to me.

"And what is it that ye shall hope for? Behold I say unto you that ye shall have hope through the atonement of Christ and the power of his resurrection, to be raised unto life eternal, and this because of your faith in him according to the promise."{Moroni 7:41}

I know that God knows us personally. I love Him, and I know that He loves us.

I want you to know that Christ loves you. Your Heavenly Father loves you. They care about you INFINITELY. They want you to succeed and to be eternally joyful. I promise you that if you turn unto Them, things will work out. You will feel of Their love and see Their hands in your life from time to time. I promise and I know that They are there. I believe this with all of my heart.

If you have never read the Book of Mormon, or you have heard some things about it or have any questions, feel free to ask me or to go to mormon.org. Turn to Heavenly Father with your questions. I know that in time, He will answer you. Until then, continue on in faith.

I love the Book of Mormon. I believe it to be true. It has filled my heart with healing and peace. It has shown me tender mercies and reminded me that I am loved. It has brought my heart closer to my Savior and my Heavenly Father. It has affected my life in every way. It has given me hope. It has shown me how to live. It has taught me of Jesus Christ and strengthened my relationship with Him. It has brought my heart to Him and filled me with His Spirit. I love it.

I love the Savior.

I love you.

Keep the faith and know that you're [so] loved.

-Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page