top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Arise and Shine

Let me just say that this has been one of my favorite verses and phrases since I was 14:

"Verily I say unto you all: Arise and shine forth, that thy light may be a standard for the nations..."

{Doctrine and Covenants 115:5}

About a year later, this became one of my favorites as well:

"Ye are the light of the world. A city that is set on an hill cannot be hid.

Neither do men light a candle, and put it under a bushel, but on a candlestick; and it giveth light unto all that are in the house.

Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven."

{Matthew 5:14-16, New Testament}

I don't exactly know why, but these verses resonated with me so greatly that they almost became a personal mission statement for me during 8th and 9th grade.

As I think about these verses, I wonder why God wants us to be lights to the world. He says in the scriptures that He doesn't want us to do things for the praise of the world. But at the same time, the world needs an example to follow. Who is going to step up and be that light?

Jesus Christ is the source of all light. When we come unto Him, we gain a taste of that light. It's like we have taken out our own candle and brought it to Him to receive clarity and warmth. Soon enough, we are warmed by His flame and have a little one burning on our own candle.

And what is one of the things that fire does best?

It spreads.

And we want others to feel the joy that they can feel from their own candle burning, so we go around and light the flames of all those whose candles are out and ready.

I don't really know why God entrusts us to be reflectors of His light. But I know that it is He who gives us the candle and softly encourages us to light it. I know it is He who provides the light.

And I believe that someday, He wants us to be able to be providers of light, just like Him. So maybe for today, He is letting us practice by just being sources of His light.

When I think of those who have given me light, they aren't popular or maybe even "successful" by the world's standards. But they have beautiful, kind hearts. They believe in Christ. They don't pay attention to where they are or how big the room is they are called to go to. They just take whatever space is given to them--whether their own home, their school, their work, or their own room--and they fill it with as much light as they can. Like the scripture says, their candle "giveth light unto all that are in the house." I am so grateful for the many, many people whose light has touched my life and heart.

Something I love about the first verse I shared at the beginning of this blog post is to think about it in the context of the lives of those it was directed toward. In this time, the Lord is giving instruction and peace to early members of my church. He commands them to shine and let their light be an example for the nations.

What I love about this is how impossible of a task that seemed. This was in the year 1838 when there weren't many members of the Church. Sometimes I wonder if they thought, how can we spread this light with the whole world when we are just here in a United States town? But regardless of what they thought, they did what they could to simply live the Gospel and to share it with whoever would listen. And as a result of their faith and the burning and sharing of the light they had been given from Christ, His message of peace and hope has reached millions worldwide. Their posterity now really is going throughout all the world and teaching this message through missionary work as well as through simply living the Gospel.

One moral of the story is, as Gordon B. Hinckley put it, "You never know how much good you do."

So, whatever "house" you're in, whether it be your dorm, your school, your workplace, your Facebook profile, your local grocery store, or wherever it may be, fill it with your light. Because I know that you have a beautiful, unique light to share this world. Start with whatever light you can muster and Christ will teach you how to let it grow stronger. And then, I have faith that we can see our light and love grow brighter and brighter until the perfect day when we can see our Lord and realize that we are more like Him than we were before.

I can't wait for that day.

Thank you for the light that you hold. It's blessed me.

Keep shining.

Please. The world needs you.

You're wonderful. With love,

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page