top of page
  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

How We Can See Him & Be Like Him

In my class this week, my teacher shared an epiphany he had regarding the Sermon on the Mount in the Bible. He explained how the Beatitudes had constantly been retaught to him and that they appeared to be a collection of random ideas that he heard all of the time. He realized, however, that they are actually like a staircase of ways to receive God's blessings and follow His path. If you read Matthew 5:3-11, you will see a list of attributes that Christ describes of people who are "blessed."

My teacher explained how you can start with the first Beatitude and it will lead you to the next one ("poor in spirit" or recognizing our weaknesses and sins leads to "mourning" or guilt for sins, which leads to "meek"ness or humility which leads to other things which eventually lead us to being persecuted for Christ's sake, and becoming true follower of Him).

I love how they can all be connected steps rather than disconnected ideas. I love the promised blessings like in verses 8 and 9.

They say, "Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God," (emphasis added).

I think that "seeing" God makes us desire to be peacemakers and by being peacemakers, we act like and therefore become the "children of God." And then, having become children of God, we will have an experience someday as described in Moroni 7 in the Book of Mormon.

"...that ye may become the sons of God; that when he shall appear we shall be like him, for we shall see him as he is; that we may have this hope; that we may be purified even as he is pure," {Moroni 7:48}.

If we follow the steps that Christ outlined in the Beatitudes, we will see Him someday and recognize Him because we will be like Him, pure and charitable. I can't wait for that day; I look forward to it with hope.

Love you all!

Abby


abby blog

BEST

Excellence Award

2016

Recent Posts
Archive
Hi There

Hi, I'm Abby! I am a brand new freshman at Brigham Young University I love to sing, I absolutely adore my nieces and nephews, and I am a lover of deep quotes! I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints and it has affected every aspect of my life. I am excited to share a little bit about my daily life and maybe learn a bit about you, too!

bottom of page